Permissions & Groups

Redash's permissions model based on groups and associated data sources. Group membership defines the actions a user is allowed to take (although currently there's no UI to edit group action permissions), and which data sources they have access to (for this we have UI).

How does it work?

Each user belongs to one or more groups. By default, each user joins the Default group. The common data sources should be associated with the Default group. 

Each data source will be associated with one or more groups. Each connection to a group will define, whether this group has Full access to this data source (view existing queries and run new ones) or View Only access, which allows only viewing existing queries and results. 

Any dashboard can contain visualizations from any data source (as long as the creating user has access to them). When a user who doesn’t have access to a visualization (because he doesn’t have access to the data source) opens a dashboard, he'll see where a visualization would be but won't be able to see any details. The screenshot shown below shows a Dashboard Widget with a visualization the user doesn’t have access to.

If a user has access to at least one widget on a dashboard, they'll be able to see the dashboard in the list of all dashboards.